Lord M's Writings & Publications

Marcus Aurelius

Derridaist Philosophy Club
Lord M on Hate Propaganda
Lord M Literary Society
Ponte Vedra Intellectual Club
Lord M Book Club
Moose (Female Poets)
Meet and Greet Lord M

The authoritative book on the Rome is The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire by Edward Gibbons.

 In it Gibbons mentions the Five Good Emperors: Nerva, Trajan, Hadrian, Antoninus Pius, and Marcus Aurelius. (96 to 180 AD)

 It is preposterous that Trajan and Hadrian should be on this list.

Why? Because one of the attributes Gibbons claims they all had was religious tolerance.

But Marcus Aurelius was a true Philosopher King.

His Stoic writings were never meant by him to be published.

 Yet they may be the greatest legacy of the Roman Empire.

Lord M